BREAKING: Tribunal Sacks Adeleke, declares Oyetola as winner of Osun governorship election

Read Time:50 Second

The Osun State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Osogbo has declared Governor Adegboyega Oyetola as the winner of the July 16, 2022 governorship election.

Reading the majority judgement, Chairman of the tribunal, Justice Tertsea Kume said the election was marred by over-voting. He thereby deducted the number of over-voting presented by Oyetola and APC.
He says having deducted the over-voting figure, Oyetola scored 314,921 while Ademola gathered 290,266.

According to the tribunal the ground of the petition before it are three. They are that Adeleke was not qualified to contest based on his academic qualifications.

Others are the Adeleke was not elected by majority of the electorates and that the election conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission was not in compliance with the provisions of the Electoral Act.

Justice Kume said the petitioners were challenging results of election in ten local government areas, which are Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore, Ejigbo, Ila, Ilesa west, Irepodun, Obokun, Olorunda and Osogbo.


A graduate of Mass Communication and Digital Multimedia Technologist, An experienced Web/Content Developer, He has served a reputable Media Organization and States in Nigeria with the use of modern technology gadget to disseminate information to the general public.

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *